PIXELATED-GLEE

a blog where joe delia blogs about video games in a blog

My Top 15 Games of 2009

Posted by Joe DeLia on December 31, 2009

With 2009′s imminent death approaching, I thought that a look back at the year that temporarily still is would be appropriate. While not quite up there with the likes of 2007 (Portal, Braid, Bioshock, Super Mario Galaxy, Rock Band) or 2004 (Halo 2, Half-Life 2, Metal Gear Solid 3, Burnout 3, Katamari Damacy), 2009 packed quite a wallop on this gamer’s wallet, delivering a steady string of entertaining game tapes and guaranteeing that my back log will be full until I’m old and grey. With that in mind, here’s my top 15 games of 2009:

15: 50 Cent: Blood on the Sand

Not a great game, but as a pure co-op experience, the X-rated catchphrases, over-the-top action, and hilarious dialogue delivered a fantastic few hours of rocket launcher-shootin’, exploding ramp-hittin’ fun.

14: F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

I’ve always been a fan of Monolith’s work, and the creepy locales, penetrating story, and entertaining weapon set of F.E.A.R. 2 kept me grinning from cheerful start to dirty finish. I just wish that they were making Condemned 3. (My Review)

13: Punch-Out!!

A fun throwback, with great animation and wonderful characters. Wish that it didn’t get so unnecessarily frustrating the second time through. (My Review)

12: Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack In Time

A splendid platformer with colorful visuals and plenty of variety. The best Ratchet game yet.

11: New Super Mario Bros. Wii

While the single player adventuring might feel extremely played out and entirely unoriginal, the co-op experience is an absolute blast.

10: Halo 3: ODST

A surprisingly unique Halo game that keeps the series’ awesome combat but adds a layer of vulnerability to the mix. My second favorite Halo campaign of them all, with a phenomenal score to boot.

9: Modern Warfare 2

The story is a mangled mess and the multiplayer is recycled bunk, but the crazy, over-the-top action is consistently exciting and Spec-Ops is an absolute blast.

8: Dead Space: Extraction

A tremendous surprise, with a unique handycam-like perspective and the best on-rails shooting ever in a game. (My Review)

7: inFamous

I liked the mission design, story bits, and empowerment of inFamous a lot. Prototype‘s open-world chaos and Crackdown‘s collection mechanics were better, but I feel like inFamous had the best overall package.

6: Left 4 Dead 2

The new campaigns were deliciously designed, and it’s still the only online multiplayer game that I enjoy playing consistently. (My Review)

5: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories

Another unexpected delight. Creepy, mind-probing questions, great exploration elements, and an enjoyable narrative made the latest Silent Hill the best since 2003. (My Review)

4: Resident Evil 5

Sure, Capcom took four years to delivery a somewhat basic followup to Resident Evil 4, but the mechanics of that classic still hold up today, and the co-op gameplay allowed me to experience one of my favorite series in a whole new way. Screw the naysayers: I loved RE5. Walking and shooting is for suckers.

3: Shadow Complex

While highly derivative, I loved everything about Shadow Complex. It all just felt right, from the weapons and abilities to the hunt for each and every upgrade. (My Review)

2: Batman: Arkham Asylum

The best superhero game of all time, and the game that should set a new standard for all licensed titles to follow. It won’t, of course, but a boy can dream.

Game Of The Year: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

Nothing more need be said about Uncharted 2, the game that, to me, did almost everything right. Loved the characters, story, nonstop surprise, constantly changing gameplay, and clever multiplayer mode. Easily the best PlayStation 3 game available right now. (My Review)

Best Games That I Didn’t Yet Play

Assassins Creed II, Borderlands, Brutal Legend, Cursed Mountain, Demon’s Souls, Red Faction: Guerrilla, The Path, Time Gentlemen, Please!

I suck.

Side note: check out my buddy Jeff’s Game of the Year blog post at http://jumpingmoustache.blogspot.com/

2 Responses to “My Top 15 Games of 2009”

  1. I think it should be noted that Joe hasn’t played Assassin’s Creed II yet. (A fact that is made quite obvious by the game’s absence from this list.)
    :-p

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

