PIXELATED-GLEE

a blog where joe delia blogs about video games in a blog

Animefest NYC 2008 Cosplay Photos

Posted by Joe DeLia on January 26, 2009

A few gaming-related pics from last year’s Animefest, taken on 9/28/08 in NYC.

What the...

Up first, a dude dressed as a nun playing Guilty Gear on the floor. I decided to start this list off strong, as you can tell.

This doesn't say much for the Guilty Gear fanbase

Not sure why it was deemed that a closer look was necessary. Turns out that it was totally and completely necessary.

She never knew...

A splendid Princess Peach outfit, and my buddy Jay.

???

Now who is this fellow…My friend decided to ask…

But of course you are.

“I AM THE BLACK MAGE!!!!!” said he.

Gotta catch em all?

I’m not too sure what this is, but it looks like some kid threw up a Pokemon and decided to wear it. That lady behind him looks even more bewildered than I did.

I kid...that's a pretty rockin costume.

As if DK Bongo Blast wasn’t embarassing enough…

Game & Watch doesn't take no for an answer

Here we get a rare treat…the Game & Watch mating ritual. He looks pleased.

This coming from a man who wore a NES on his head. Twice.

If you somehow managed to replace the badassery of Vincent with the skill of “dorkery”, you might be able to describe this picture. Is that a real skill?

I later cosplayed as Dante at a Halloween Party. Don't think I'll post pictures of that...

You don’t see the all girl Devil May Cry cosplay team in action that often, so I weasled my way into a picture before they went off to do….whatever it is they do…

Please Activision...don't sell Ratner what is left of your soul.

Auditioning for Brett Ratner? Could Guitar Hero:The Movie have its lead? The world will (hopefully) never know…

Hope Daisy is still ok

Donkey Kong looks thinner since I last saw him…and slightly less hairy. Good for him.

Someone likes attention...

Wait…is it…could it be?

Whoa

Yep…it’s the greatest outfit ever conceived by Nintendo, in all of its hyper-neon, Tron-guy glory. Thanks for the memories, Animefest.

Expect more Cosplay goodness from ComicCon 2009 New York shortly.

Leave a comment